Greetings from Finland!

26.10.2023

My name is Ossi and I'm a teacher from Finland. I spent a whole week in your school because I wanted to see what it is like to go to school in Czech Republic. During my visit, I observed lessons from first grade to ninth and met lots of students and teachers. I really enjoyed the bilingual classes (for obvious reason) but I also learned some words in Czech language. I also noticed that your school and our school have a lot in common. For example you learn to read in a very similar way like we do, even though our languages are so different.

At the end of the week I gave a presentation of Finland for some classes and some of you already knew many things about Finland. It was really fun to talk with you and especially third graders had some really good questions for me!

During my visit in Ostrava, I also had time to see some attractions, such as Dolní Vítkovice and Ostrava Zoo. Elephants, or as you say sloni, were my favorites. I also climbed to Halda Ema with my great tour guides. I really like Ostrava and it was really exciting to travel everywhere by tram because there aren't trams in my city.

Thank you all for being so kind and polite to me all week. I really appreciate it! And special thanks to Anna for working as a mentor for me. I hope I see some of you again in the future.


So goodbye, ahoj & näkemiin!

Ossi